Jumping back on the bandwagon!


I hate that for the last several months it’s been day to day with the food. Never really going to the grocery store for one big purchase, no meal planning. Ugh! So time to jump back into it!

Tomorrow the hubby gets paid and that means I need to come up with a food list for the next 2.5 weeks and buy it ALL tomorrow. Budget? $150 for three people.

When we lived in Virginia I started buying food every two weeks and discovered I saved a TON of money. Way more than if I did it every week. I also rarely used my entire budget, it was much more like 70 bucks for 2 weeks – which is pretty amazing 🙂 Part of the low dollar amount could be because I hate buying junk food. I feel like its a huge waste of money. Don’t get me wrong, I love junk food! But I usually stare at the potential product, weighing the yummy taste against its cost and end up not getting it or figuring I can make way more for less at home.

That’s the other thing – home cooking saves you a ton of money and is so much healthier for you – even if what you are making is full of sugar and cheese!…Much healthier than the processed store stuff. I don’t want to make it sound like I never buy stuff at the store, I do. I just try not too.

Also, I am still working with this candida diet and finding what works best for me. I’ll be having tests soon to determine if gluten, soy, casein, dairy (which I already know) or anything else is a problem for me. My stomach really has never felt better. My head feels clearer. I can wake up without headaches. It’s great and completely worth not eating donuts – almost. After I come up with the next couple weeks food plan, I will be sure to share it here with any original recipes. I’ve been forced to get creative so there’s a lot more of me in these recipes than usual.

Leave a comment